Tags

, , , , , , ,

Lord,

bless this mess.
Bless this Monday house-
breakfast dishes in the sink,
beds still unmade,
clutter of sandwich makings on the cabinet,
living room awry.
Bless this mess,
and me, as I proceed to tackle it.
 
Lord,
bless this mess.
Bless this Monday mind-
cluttered and cobwebby,
catch-all for outgrown opinions and ill-fitting prejudices,
it’s mental compartments not yet straightened out,
thought patterns that could do with a good airing.
Bless this mess
and me, as I proceed to tackle it.
 
A Monday house isn’t as bad as a Monday mind.
The house can wait.
But there are some thinking things that I need to attend to now.
I wish it could be done with mop and broom-
those tools I understand.
But thinking is hard, uncomfortable, unfamiliar.
And thinking is the only cleaning agent for a Monday mind.
Ah, so.
 
Lord, bless this day.
The mop and broom I can handle. I need thy help
with the cleansing of my mind.
 

                              Amen.

