Tags

, , , , , ,

IMG_5438[1]

Crochet is a huge part of who I am and a daily part of the little things in life that make me happy.  I crochet every single day.  Maybe only a few stitches, or a few rows but my crochet bag just like my camera bag is never far from my side.  I find in today’s busy life, mine anyway, that I have batches of down time when I am waiting on something.  During those times I crochet to pass time and keep my hands busy.

I will crochet anywhere the mood strikes and no longer worry that people will say, “What in the world is she doing?” Now they just say, “Oh, there’s that crazy crocheting lady.” Laughing to myself, but it is good for one’s sole to have a hobby, something to do for themselves that makes them “happy”!  And crochet definitely makes me a happy girl!

I love to find new and different things to crochet, glancing through the written pattern to see if it will be a good fit for a new project, and I do have baskets of WIP’s (works in progress) that I work on at all different times.  I have been a soccer mom for 16 years and that is a lot of waiting time. Waiting at practices, waiting for games to start, long long drives to distant cities and towns for away games and tournaments. If I am the passenger rather than the driver, I crochet along the way.

My most recent finished project was new, something that I had never attempted: YOGA SOCKS!  A co-worker picked this Raverly pattern by Codi Booher and purchased her choice of yarn and I got to stitching. The pattern was very simple to read and it only took me three tries to get it right.  Remember, I had never attempted this before so I am pleased with the number of go’s it took. The finished product was two pair of multicolored Yoga Socks.  I followed the originator’s wishes to not use the pattern for profit and happily gave the two pair as a birthday gift to SJ.

It is a sense of accomplishment to begin and actually finish a project whether it is crochet or something else and have your Ta-Dah moment.

How many WIP’s do you currently have? Pick one and set a goal to finish it within a reasonable time frame.  You will be thrilled with your accomplishment I just know it!

Pinkie~

